Oscars 2018: 'Darkest Hour' Actor Gary Oldman Nabs Best Lead Actor Trophy

Meanwhile, 'Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri' collects more trophies as Frances McDormand is announced as Best Lead Actress.

AceShowbiz - The Best Lead Actor at the 90th Academy Awards, which was held on Sunday, March 4 at Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, California, has been revealed. The coveted trophy went to "Darkest Hour" actor %cGary Oldman%, who portrayed Winston Churchill in the flick.

"My deepest thank to the Academy and its members for this glorious prize. I owe this and so much more to so many," Oldman, who won his first Oscar, opened his speech. "I've lived in America for the longest time and I am deeply grateful to her for the loves and the friendship that I have made, and the many wonderful gifts it is given me. My home, my livelihood, and family, and Oscar. The movies such as their power captivated a young man from South London and gave him a dream."

Meanwhile, "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" collected more trophies as %cFrances McDormand% was honored with the Best Lead Actress prize later that night. McDormand won the category thanks to her stunning performance as Mildred Hayes in the movie, which previously won Best Supporting Actor for %cSam Rockwell%.

"Blade Runner 2049" nabbed the prize for the Best Cinematography at the 90th Academy Awards, which was held on Sunday, March 4 at Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, California. This marked the second win for the dystopian movie after previously being named the winner of Best Visual Effects category.

"The Shape of Water" earned its second Oscar as it was announced as the winner for Original Music Score category. It was also the second Oscar for Alexander Desplat, who was the mastermind behind the warm and melodic music for the movie. The Golden Globe and BAFTA-winning French composer previously nabbed the prize for the category for 2014's "The Grand Budapest Hotel".

As for the Best Original Song, the award went to "Remember Me" from Best Animated Feature winner "Coco". The song was brilliantly composed and written by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez.

Best Original Music Score and Production Design weren't the last trophies which "The Shape of Water" collected that night. During the big event, director Guillermo del Toro was named the Best Director for his work on the movie, besting Christopher Nolan ("Dunkirk"), %cJordan Peele% ("Get Out"), Greta Gerwig ("Lady Bird") and Paul Thomas Anderson ("Phantom Thread").

"I am an immigrant ... The best thing our industry does is to help erase the lines in the sand when the world tries to make them deeper. We should continue doing that," del Toro said during his speech.

You can share this post!

Related Posts