Oscars 2018: 'I, Tonya' Star Allison Janney Takes Home Supporting Actress Trophy

'Dunkirk', meanwhile, bags the trophies for Sound Editing and Sound Mixing categories during the awards-giving event at Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, California.

AceShowbiz - More winners at the 2018 Academy Awards have been announced. The Best Supporting Actress trophy of this year's Oscars went to "I, Tonya" star %cAllison Janney%. The actress beat the likes of %cMary J. Blige% ("Mudbound"), %cLesley Manville% ("Phantom Thread"), %cLaurie Metcalf% ("Lady Bird") and %cOctavia Spencer% ("The Shape of Water").

"I did it all by myself," Janney joked during her speech. "Okay, nothing further from the truth. Thank you for the Academy. My fellow nominees, you represent everything that is good, and right and human about this profession. You are all extraordinary."

On the other hand, "Dunkirk" bagged the trophies for Sound Editing and Sound Mixing categories during the Sunday, March 4 awards-giving event at Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, California. Richard King and Alex Gibson shared the former award, while Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo and Mark Weingarten won the latter award.

The award marked the fourth for Landaker. The re-recording mixer previously landed Oscars for his work on "The Empire Strikes Back", "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and "Speed". It was also the fourth Oscar for King, who won for "The Dark Knight", "Inception" and "Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World".

"Hello, I'd like to thank the Academy for including me in this nomination. It's historic and I think music editors and I are very grateful. And that's it. I guess I'm done," Gibson said during the speech.

Landaker, meanwhile, said while accepting the trophy for Sound Mixing category, "I'd like to thank ladies and gentlemen of the Academy of arts and sciences. Thank you so much for bestowing this great honor upon this sound crew for 'Dunkirk'. To my support team, Catherine Landaker, I love you. To my cheerleading squad, Cary Cashman, Jim, Grace and Jake. To two gentlemen that bookend my career Don Rogers, giving me flight, and to Kim Wa for giving me a safe landing. To Christopher Nolan, that entrusted us, encouraged us to try to make a difference in a soundtrack. Thank you so much."

"The Shape of Water" took home the trophy for Production Design category. The production design was the result of the amazing work of Paul Denham Austerberry, while Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin were the masterminds of the set decoration.

As for the Best Foreign Language Film, the award went to Chilean movie "A Fantastic Woman". Directed by Sebastian Lelio and written by Lelio and Gonzalo Maza, the movie was the first Chilean entry for the foreign language Oscar since Pablo Larrain's "No".

Another honoree that night was "Dear Basketball". The animated flick, which was helmed by Glen Keane and %cKobe Bryant%, was announced as the winner for Best Animated Short. "Whatever form your dreams may take, it's through passion and perseverance that the impossible is possible," Keane said during the speech.

You can share this post!

Related Posts