Gotham Awards 2016: Casey Affleck Is Named Best Actor, 'Moonlight' Wins Big

Affleck took home the trophy for his performance in 'Manchester by the Sea', while the Barry Jenkins-directed movie scored four awards including Best Feature and Best Screenplay.

AceShowbiz - %cCasey Affleck% won Best Actor for his performance in "Manchester by the Sea" at the 26th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards on Monday, November 28 at Cipriani Wall Street in NYC. The 41-year-old actor won over fellow actors %cJeff Bridges% ("Hell or High Water"), %cAdam Driver% ("Paterson"), %cJoel Edgerton% ("Loving") and %cCraig Robinson% ("Morris from America").

Meanwhile, the Best Feature Award was nabbed by "Moonlight". The Barry Jenkinks-directed movie also took home the prize for Best Screenplay and the Audience Award. Additionally, a Special Gotham Jury Award was given to cast members %cMahershalalhashbaz Ali%, %cNaomie Harris%, %cAlex Hibbert%, %cAndre Holland%, %cJharrel Jerome%, %cJanelle Monae%, %cJaden Piner%, %cTrevante Rhodes% and %cAshton Sanders%.

Also announced as winners at the awards show were %cIsabelle Huppert% and %cAnya Taylor-Joy%. Huppert managed to beat several formidable competitors like %cNatalie Portman% ("Jackie") and %cAnnette Bening% ("20th Century Women") among others to win Best Actress for her performance in "Elle", while Taylor-Joy grabbed the award for Breakthrough Actor for her performance in "The Witch".

In TV categories, The CW's "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend" won the Breakthrough Series - Longform Award over "Marvel's Jessica Jones" among others, while the prize for Breakthrough Series - Short Form went to comedy short series "Her Story".

  • Best Feature: "Moonlight"
  • Best Actor: %cCasey Affleck% in Manchester by the Sea
  • Best Actress: %cIsabelle Huppert% in "Elle
  • Best Documentary: "O.J.: Made in America", Director: Ezra Edelman
  • Best Screenplay: Barry Jenkins, story by Tarell Alvin McCraney ("Moonlight")
  • Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director: Trey Edward Shults ("Krisha")
  • Breakthrough Series - Longform: "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend"
  • Breakthrough Series - Short Form: "Her Story"
  • Breakthrough Actor: %cAnya Taylor-Joy% in "The Witch
  • Audience Award: "Moonlight"
  • Special Jury Award - Ensemble Performance: %cMahershalalhashbaz Ali%, %cNaomie Harris%, %cAlex Hibbert%, %cAndre Holland%, %cJharrel Jerome%, %cJanelle Monae%, %cJaden Piner%, %cTrevante Rhodes% and %cAshton Sanders% ("Moonlight)

You can share this post!

Related Posts