'First Reformed' and 'The Favourite' Land Top Nominations at 2018 Gotham Awards
A24/Fox Searchlight Pictures

The Ethan Hawke-led thriller and the biographical drama starring Rachel Weisz are both eying the Best Feature prize at the annual awards event.

AceShowbiz - "First Reformed", "The Favourite", and "The Rider" are among the films who will compete for Best Feature at the 2018 Gotham Awards.

"Madeline's Madeline" and "If Beale Street Could Talk" are also on the shortlist for the top prize, while Adam Driver ("BlacKkKlansman"), Ben Foster ("Leave No Trace"), Ethan Hawke ("First Reformed"), Glenn Close ("The Wife") and Toni Collette ("Hereditary") are nominated for top acting awards.

Olivia Colman, Rachel Weisz, and Emma Stone will also be saluted with an ensemble honour for period comedy "The Favourite".

The Gotham Awards, which are often an early indicator of Oscars-worthy movies, will be staged in New York on 26 November.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Feature

  • "First Reformed"
  • "The Favourite"
  • "Madeline's Madeline"
  • "If Beale Street Could Talk"
  • "The Rider"
  • Best Documentary

  • "Bisbee '17"
  • "Hale County This Morning, This Evening"
  • "Minding the Gap"
  • "Shirkers"
  • "Won't You Be My Neighbor?"
  • Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

  • Bo Burnham, "Eighth Grade"
  • Ari Aster, "Hereditary"
  • Boots Riley, "Sorry to Bother You"
  • Crystal Moselle, "Skate Kitchen"
  • Jennifer Fox, "The Tale"
  • Best Screenplay

  • Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, "The Favourite"
  • Cory Finley, "Thoroughbreds"
  • Paul Schrader, "First Reformed"
  • Tamara Jenkins, "Private Life"
  • Andrew Bujalski, "Support the Girls"
  • Best Actor

  • Adam Driver, "BlacKkKlansman"
  • Ben Foster, "Leave No Trace"
  • Richard E. Grant, "Can You Ever Forgive Me?"
  • Ethan Hawke, "First Reformed"
  • Lakeith Stanfield, "Sorry to Bother You"
  • Best Actress

  • Glenn Close, "The Wife"
  • Toni Collette, "Hereditary"
  • Kathryn Hahn, "Private Life"
  • Regina Hall, "Support the Girls"
  • Michelle Pfeiffer, "Where is Kyra?"
  • Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance

  • "The Favourite": Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz
  • Breakthrough Actor

  • Thomasin Harcourt, "Leave No Trace"
  • Helena Howard, "Madeline's Madeline"
  • Kiki Layne, "If Beale Street Could Talk"
  • Elsie Fisher, "Eighth Grade"
  • Yalitza Aparicio, "Roma"
  • Breakthrough Series - Long Form

  • "Alias Grace"
  • "Big Mouth"
  • "The End of the F**king World"
  • "Killing Eve"
  • "Pose"
  • "Sharp Objects"
  • Breakthrough Series - Short Form

  • "195 Lewis"
  • "Cleaner Daze"
  • "Distance"
  • "The F Word"
  • "She's the Ticket"
  • You can share this post!

    Related Posts