'Get Out' Leads 2017 Gotham Independent Film Awards Nominations

'Call Me by Your Name', 'Lady Bird', 'The Florida Project', 'Columbus' and 'I, Tonya' are among the indie movies getting multiple nods at the November 27 awards.

AceShowbiz - The indie movies getting nominations at this year's Gotham Film Awards are revealed. %cJordan Peele%'s directorial debut "Get Out" leads the pack with four nods while "Call Me by Your Name", "Lady Bird", "The Florida Project" and "Columbus" trail closely behind with three nods each.

"Get Out", "Call Me by your Name" and "The Florida Project" are all up for Best Feature along with "Good Time" and "I, Tonya". Peele is additionally nominated for Breakthrough Director Award and Best Screenplay for his work in the horror film starring %cDaniel Kaluuya% and %cAllison Williams%.

Kaluuya is vying for Best Actor. He is pitted against the likes of %cWillem Dafoe% (The Florida Project"), %cJames Franco% ("The Disaster Artist"), %cRobert Pattinson% ("Good Time"), %cAdam Sandler% ("The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)"), and %cHarry Dean Stanton% ("Lucky").

Meanwhile, "I, Tonya" actress %cMargot Robbie% is nominated for Best Actress. To win the prestigious award, she has to beat %cMelanie Lynskey% ("I Don't Feel at Home in This World Anymore"), %cHaley Lu Richardson% ("Columbus"), %cSaoirse Ronan% ("Lady Bird"), and %cLois Smith% ("Marjorie Prime").

Dafoe's "Florida Project" co-star %cBrooklynn Prince% is among the nominees for Breakthrough Actor. It's a stiff competition that includes %cMary J. Blige% ("Mudbound"), %cTimothee Chalamet% ("Call Me by Your Name"), %cHarris Dickinson% ("Beach Rats"), and %cKelvin Harrison Jr.% ("It Comes at Night").

In the TV department, FX receives two nods, thanks to "Atlanta" and "Better Things" which are nominated for Breakthrough Series in a Long Form. The other nominees are Netflix's "Dear White People", Amazon's "Fleabag", and TBS' "Search Party".

The 27th Gotham Awards will be held on November 27 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York. This year, the Best Actor/Best Actress nominating committee has voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance to "Mudbound". The award will go to actors %cCarey Mulligan%, %cGarrett Hedlund%, %cJason Clarke%, %cJason Mitchell%, Mary J. Blige, %cRob Morgan% and %cJonathan Banks%.

Last year, "Moonlight" won the special award. The movie also took home Best Feature, Best Screenplay and Audience Award. It went on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards and %cMahershala Ali% grabbed Oscars' Best Supporting Actor.

Best Feature:

Best Documentary: Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award: Best Screenplay: Best Actor: Best Actress: Breakthrough Actor: